Guest Post: 21 Going on 12

Dear Optimists,

It’s funny when people underestimate your age. I personally like it, but it gets so awkward when people over-underestimate it! I’m 21 already, but have got myself mistaken as a 12-year-old a lot; dozens of times actually!!

I will never forget two years ago, while shopping with my mom, a man of my father’s age came by and asked me to try a jacket… he said, “Would you please try this? It’s for my daughter, she’s of your age, 12 years.” Then he patted my shoulder, thinking I was a 12-year-old kid!! I swear, I couldn’t utter a word; I silently pulled myself out, leaving him wondering what his mistake was! My mother couldn’t stop laughing when I told her!!

I also remember when I missed my flight last year and the woman at the check-in desk called the plane crew telling them they have left a 12 year-old child alone at the airport!!

Love,

Sara of The Accidental Blog

P.S: My sister insisted on drawing me that tiny; she’s younger, yet taller than I! If I were good with drawing I would’ve drawn myself taller!

22 responses to “Guest Post: 21 Going on 12

  1. I have a different problem with age. Apparently, I’m perpetually 17 years old. People have thought that I was 18 when I was 13, and now that I’m 30, people still think I’m 17.

    A couple of weeks ago, a woman asked if I went to the local high school. I told her that I work at the local college.

    Very cute post, Sara! 🙂

  2. haha!! lol 😀 poor “little” Sara 😉 😛 !!

  3. Well, I’am often mistaken for being at least 5 yrs younger .. I usually just reply thanks, I’d like to be that age again, but am xx old. And add the fact – I just last a bit longer … With a twist of humor, you can get pretty far with it.

  4. Hehe, I too can relate. I have often been asked “Are those your kids?” Yes, yes they are.

  5. Oh my goodness! I’ve always been mistaken for being older simply because of my height. I was mistaken for a three year old at 18 months.

  6. -Eliabeth* (Sorry, there’s two Ermilia bloggers and I usually remember to add my signature to lessen confusion)

  7. I have had similar problems. Although when I was 12-14 some people didn’t believe I was that age. When I was 18 I was refused to buy a drink in the pub… Now that I’m 21, I have been refused to buy 15 rated films and asked for ID to pay for a pack of cigarettes for my boyfriend’s mum. Yet when I went to a pub recently and thought of buying myself a drink for the first time, I never got asked ID or been refused o.O’

    It’s worse when I see school kids the same height as me or taller! (I’m 5’4″). Love the drawings, the exaggeration of the height brings such a comical effect to the whole event ^-^

  8. Once when I was 13 I was walking around a fair with my 5-year-old step-brother. I was holding his hand and some lady at a booth asked me how old my son was. I was tall for my age, but I definitely didn’t look that old.

  9. I’m 19 and get mistaken for being 13/14 but I’m cool with that 😛 Looking younger than my age will come in handy in my later years!

  10. Thank you for all your comments. I don’t know why I cant reply using my WordPress account!!

    Anyway, looking younger than you really are is a bliss after all.. 🙂

  11. this is a real pain in the patoot. But trust me, I’m now old, wise, and wonderful. I’ve finally figured out all those people who look perpetually young will have everyone deliriously jealous by mid-age and knocking their heads against the wall by 60. Stay forever young, ladies. Bless your lucky DNA.

  12. Oh you know, you’re not alone in this! I’m often mistaken for an 11 years old too because I’m so small for a 16-year-old girl! It sometimes hurts but well I got used to it and often find it funny! So when we’ll reach past 30 years we’ll be thought to be in our twenties… and that’s nice! ^^

  13. Epic ! 🙂 very funney!!
    I know about it, but the other way around. When I was 14 someone to a wedding, thought I was 18-19 :p
    People still add a few years to my age :p but the always say I should take it as a compliment., hmmm 🙂 I will try.. And you should definitely take it as a great compliment 😀

Leave a Reply

