Contest With Den!

Dear Optimists,

I have to admit I love writing posts for this blog. Not only does it keep me optimistic and give me the opportunity to make others smile, it also, sometimes, opens my world to new people and friendship.

After months of friendly emails with a certain optimist, I finally got the opportunity to have a Skype conversation with a new optimistic friend from Canada. And it was a blast! I just love Skype and how it makes everyone just a bit closer to me emotionally. We talked for a bit, laughed a lot, told stories…what fun!

So now I’m offering a different type of contest on DO. Nadia gets to offer you artwork, but I can’t exactly send you some random scribbling and expect you to get excited. So I’m trying something a bit off the wall – everyone who comments today will be entered into a random drawing to have a Skype chat with Den! Or maybe if your comment is especially enticing I will choose you! Got something you’d like to chat about? Know a funny joke? Just need a bit of a laugh?

Not really sure this is much of a prize, and yes I am nervous that nobody will enter for this prize, but heck, it’s the best I can offer…a few moments of entertaining chat with a disgustingly optimistic person. And trust me, worst comes to worst I WILL make you laugh. I guess the only steadfast rule is that you have to be comfortable speaking English.

Good luck, even though I’m not sure anyone wins in a chat with Den.

Love,
Den

P.S. I did the artwork today since Nadia started a very difficult semester this week.

24 responses to “Contest With Den!

  1. If I win, do I have to shower to Skype with Den? I’m in a writerly mode right now, which means that personal hygiene takes a back seat.

    • Haha love it! My Skype actually DOES have smell-o-vision, FYI. And would you really want to risk my next post being about how smelly you are? šŸ˜‰

  2. Awww this is such a sweet idea! šŸ™‚
    I’m kinda nervous at the idea of having a Skype chat with you, actually. You’re like a blogging celebrity in my mind right now =P
    But I had to comment because I don’t want you to feel nervous hehe šŸ™‚

    • Oh geez, a pity comment? Haha not cool! You shouldn’t be nervous šŸ˜‰ I’m a pleasant chatting friend. We can both get tea ready and make like we’re in a coffee shop!

      • Hahaha no, not a pity comment at all! A I-secretly-want-to-have-a-Skype-chat-with-blogging-celebrity-Den-but-can’t-come-out-and-say-it comment lol.
        I’m sure you’re a very pleasant chatting friend šŸ™‚

  3. I can always use more positive people in my life, so drop my name into the hat. Btw…what kind of hat would YOU pull from??? I’m gonna guess something vintage. That’s my final answer.
    Not sure what I have to contribute to the convo, although I’m sure I can regale you with cultural anecdotes from the “land of the morning calm” aka Seoul. šŸ˜›

  4. I would be totally excited to get a “scribbling” from you. I love your blog for the silly jokes, blatent optimism and charming artwork. Fingers crossed I win….
    Optimistic in Oregon,
    Laura

  5. I would love to Skype chat with you, Den! However, I do think I would be quite boring…. I could start brainstorming topics in case I win. That should give me something to do.. at work. šŸ˜›

  6. Sounds like fun. Fair warning, if I win there is a high probability of a preschooler excitedly bringing all his toys to the computer to show you them. I enjoy your posts here and your short stories, would be fun to chat šŸ˜€

  7. Wait a minute…I recognise that blonde cartoon… šŸ˜‰

    Would it be weird if I entered this contest? I feel like it might be weird. But Skype-ing with Den is so much fun!! šŸ˜€

    P.S. Nadia, I hope that your workload lightens up this week! xo

  8. Hey Den & Nadia! Here’s my post on Why Do You Blog? Thanks again for participating and I hope you like my little tribute to you and your amazing blog! šŸ™‚
    http://cafe23dotme.wordpress.com/2012/01/26/why-do-you-blog/

    And does this count as a second raffle entry? Hehe just kidding =P

  9. Yo..yo..yo… here comes your number one fan! ;D
    Your posts always make me wonder about what kind of persons both of you are, since they never fail to make laugh! LOL

  10. It’s funny how only ladies entered the contest. I’m going to represent the male readership of DO by submitting this entry.

    *Please don’t pick me*

  11. who won? haha! šŸ˜€ shame.. i have read this just now šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

