A very Danish Christmas

Dear Optimists,

Christmas is around the corner, in case you haven’t noticed. For me, as a Dane, Christmas is tomorrow evening. We spend the evening eating duck, goose, turkey and/or pork loin (which is horrible!), dancing around the Christmas tree while caroling, and opening presents.

I stopped celebrating Christmas during my teens, but it’s starting to grow on me again. This year I’m celebrating with the boyfriend, my parents-in-law and my Mum. I even bought a dress:

For dessert we will have a traditional Danish rice pudding with almonds and cherry sauce on top. The almonds are chopped, but we leave one whole almond in the pudding. Whoever gets the almond will receive a prize! I can’t wait!

Even though I really don’t fancy this dessert, I eat until I burst.

The following days will most likely be spend with family where we eat some more.

I’m curious: How are you going to celebrate Christmas? Do you have any special traditions?

Love,
Nadia.

13 responses to “A very Danish Christmas

  1. Our family starts celebrating on Christmas Eve and we don’t stop until Boxing Day. We’re allowed to open 1 present on Christmas Eve (it’s always pyjamas), and then we eat tons of food and play games all night. On Christmas Day, we eat homemade sweet bread drizzled with icing, open our stockings, and then our presents. Then we eat a HUGE turkey dinner and then fall asleep on the couch about 13 minutes later.

    Can’t wait!! Enjoy dancing around your Christmas tree in your new dress, Nadia! ❀

  2. I see you styled your hair to go with your new dress!

  3. Merry Christmas! In Connecticut we are waiting for the 2nd snow of the season. We first got it in October and then nothing.

    Our household is about Santa and opening gifts since I have a 2 and 5 year old.

    We have started a new tradition about Santa’s elf who can’t keep secrets:

    http://ichoosehappynow.com/2011/12/24/cup-of-joy/my-first-ebook-christmas-without-chimneys-as-told-by-ted-the-elf-who-cant-keep-secrets/

    Cheers,
    Louise

  4. that’s so cool. I would love to experience danish christmas someday πŸ™‚ as for me, we stopped celebrating christmas since my brother and my sister moved out, they got their own families so, that’s pretty much the end of our celebration. but we still cook good food, sometimes. πŸ™‚

    • You’re welcome to come! They are awesome. I want to experience a real American and a real English one, as well (I’ve tried an English one before, but it’s not the same when you’re in Denmark doing it, hehe).
      I’m so sad to hear that you guys stopped celebrating 😦 How do you feel about that?

      • it’s pretty sad especially when you see that others have happy celebrations with their relatives joining them for the holidays, and when you see others that their families tell stories of how their year was or what’s up and coming about them. i miss the celebrations. and oh, ours is a different one. we celebrate it the Filipino way. πŸ˜€

  5. Merry Christmas!! Hope you’re having a wonderful time πŸ™‚ I gave you two awards for your blog… I just happen to love it so much! Come and get your Christmas gift: http://evilnymphstuff.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/merry-christmas-awards-giveaway/

  6. Pretty much the same minus the almond. We eat and dance and open presents together. We get to open one present on Christmas Eve and we don’t stop celebrating till New Year’s Day.

    • Apparently we didn’t stop celebrating before New Year’s Day either. It was pretty damn mad and absolutely wonderful! Hope you had a good one πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

