Holiday Films!

Dear Optimists,

So the other day I wrote about Christmas Music…today I think I’ll talk about my favorite shows and movies. Top of the list is definitely Scrooged and Christmas Vacation. “Shitter’s full!” And if you haven’t seen the movie…go rent it NOW. But as a throwback, I always love catching Christmas Eve on Sesame Street…who remembers that one? Oscar convinces Big Bird that Santa can’t possibly fit into the chimney, so BB heads to the roof to wait for Santa as the rest of Sesame Street searches desperately for our large avian friend.

And an often forgotten Christmas movie, another of my favorites, is Gremlins. Say what you want, but it IS a Christmas movie. Gizmo was Billy’s Christmas present! And come on…what a fun holiday movie it is.

Of course, I couldn’t talk Christmas shows without mentioning Charlie Brown, Rudolph and all of those old classics. It’s a Wonderful Life is good too, of course.

How about you? Any favorites holiday films?

Love,
Den

11 responses to “Holiday Films!

  1. Oh I love The National Lampoons Christmas Vacation. Have the DVD ready for Saturday! And of course there will be Elf, Bad Santa (gotta love a ‘bad’ Crimbo movie) and Nightmare Before Christmas. And all of this will be watched with popcorn, home made sweets and lots of rum! Ho Ho Ho! Have a cool yule guys! 🙂

  2. Elf- The bonus is that it holds the attention of my 3 year-old. 🙂
    Emmett Otter’s Jugband Christmas— which I REALLY want on DVD!

    Thanks for the walk down memory lane, Den.

    And what great drawings, Nadia!

  3. The Muppets Christmas Carol is DEFINITELY in my top 3. 🙂

    Also, I seem to really like White Christmas for some reason.

    (Also, Nadia…amazing drawings! Clark Griswold is dead on!)

  4. Even though its sad, I LOVE Jack Frost! And Polar Express is right at the top of my list too 🙂

  5. The films that give me the feeling of hope, cheer and festive fluffyness in my tummy are ‘Home Alone’ (to me it’s timeless. I watched this as an 8 year old when it came out so related to the excited and scared hiding under the bed feelings he has throughout the film. I watch this now in my late 20’s and love it just as much and love the nostalgia and heartwarming christmas Spirit the film has) ‘A Christmas Carol’ (the 1982 Australian version; this was the first version of the film I ever saw. While it may not be the best, to me it always will be a classic) and ‘Elf’ (need I say more 🙂 )
    I love to watch all the Christmas films during this magical season, I completely OD on them: ‘It’s a wonderful life’, ‘Gremlins’ (totally agree with you) ‘Nightmare before Christmas’… the list goes on but only them 3 give me ‘that’ feeling.

    Have a very Merry Christmas 🙂

  6. oh mu gosh. I totally spend my Christmas day watching movies :)) sadly, I haven’t watched those you mentioned, ’cause I think they’re released before I was born. haha! 🙂 no offense there, but I think I might check them out 🙂

  7. MUPPET CHRISTMAS CAROL!! 😀

    But yes, Gremlins is also awesome.

Leave a Reply

