Share your appreciation

Dear Optimists,

Today I’m going to tell  you about someone that I appreciate very much. She’s always there for me, ready to listen. She’s been there for the past 9-10 years, but I don’t really feel that I show her enough appreciation. I’m going to change that.

Thursday was the day for my thesis hand-in at the University. Thursday was also the day the train staff chose to go on strike.

So I rang Malou:

She went to work to explain the situation and came to get me:

Then we went on the long drive to my University. At the University I got lost and ran down the halls, confused and stressed out. Malou pointed out a big sign which read, “thesis hand-in”.

She’s been listening to me complain for the past three weeks. Which is why she is frowning and looks tired.

But she’s there. She’s always there.

Thank you, Malou. Thank you for always saving my arse, for being ready with a comforting hug (and cake) and just because you are you.

Today, go tell someone how much you appreciate them. Isn’t that what the Holidays are for?

Love,
Nadia.

8 responses to “Share your appreciation

  1. Everybody needs a “Malou” in their life. My Malou is called Marcelo! One day I had to go to the hospital cause I cut my finger so deeply it was necessary stitches. It was raining cats and dogs, so it was impossible for someone to get to my house and give me a ride… I took my car and drove to the hospital with lots of pain and blood going everywhere…

    when I got there Marcelo called me and told me he was so nervous about rescuing me that he didn’t realize he climbed the sidewalk with his car… so that’s why he was late -> he was at the police station trying to explain the situation.

    Is it possible to live without these people in our lives? I don’t think so…

  2. Aw, I love that you have such a special friend! Beautiful way to honor her, too. AND- Congrats on yoru thesis hand-in!!!

  3. Indeed the holidays are a perfect time to spread out all the love and appreciation you’ve held for the ones who’d always been there for you. Beautiful post!

  4. Well, I appreciate YOU, Nadia! I mean, where would I be without seeing your awesome cartoons everyday? They keep me from going mad…and also, they make me wish that I had a cartoon version of myself.

    Someday…someday…

Leave a Reply

