Guest Post Wednesday: Stereotyping

Dear Optimists,

The thing that drives me crazy is that sometimes, I cannot stand judgmental people! I have been judged many times throughout my life. Here are some rather funny examples:

Distant-Relative-I-Have-Never-Met: So, you are metro, right?
Me: Why would you say that? *confused*

Kid-Of-Family-Friends: Are you emo?
Me: No… LOL, are you? *confused*


Me: My sister says I lack common sense.
A-New-Friend: She is right, you do…
Me: Huh? *confused*

Stranger: You are probably always studying since you are brown.
Me: Actually, I wish I was the stereotypical smart brownie. Instead I spend most of my time blogging.
Stranger: *Confused*
Me: *Confused even more*

These are only a few of the incidences I can think of right now. But at the end, there is always something to laugh about.

Stay positive, people!
Love,
Eva626

13 responses to “Guest Post Wednesday: Stereotyping

  1. I am animated lol. i love this blog!

    but yea stereotyping is a BIG issue…its gives people issues, and attacks their their self esteem.

    • Yes, you are πŸ˜‰ Thank you.

      Stereotyping can be bad, but if we choose to look upon it differently it’s actually quite fun, as you mention yourself. It’s hilarious how some people think they can put you in a box and keep you there just because you look or behave a certain way. In the end it’s all about attitude, yeah? πŸ™‚

  2. What would make you happy Eva? ;p

  3. I do agree that stereotyping can be bad, but I have to admit that I fit into one category and embrace it…I am a lousy Asian Female Driver.

    Here is a blog post about it:
    http://ichoosehappynow.com/2011/12/04/cup-of-joy/i-admit-it-i-fit-the-stereotype-of-a-bad-asian-female-driver/

    Cheers,
    Louise

  4. Great post Eva.
    Or should I say Emo Eva?

  5. Apparently I’m a negative, narrow minded person (according to some of those I work with) simply because I point out potential issues with IT planned upgrades. That is what I’m paid to do!!! If I didn’t point out issues I would be fired! But I think sod what others say, I’m just me. πŸ™‚

  6. medic in the suburbs

    I used to think stereotyping sucked, but now I laugh. It all started when people thought of me as a lousy Asian female driver. But, when I prove someone wrong, that look of utter surprise and shock on their face.. it’s priceless!

  7. Pingback: Tis’ the season | herenownotforeva

  8. Pingback: stereotyping « medic in the suburbs

Leave a Reply

