Rolling in the deep (+ 100th post contest!)

Dear Optimists,

It’s a very special day for Dear Optimists! This is our 100th post!
We’d like to take a moment to thank every single reader, commenter, guest poster and optimist out there who are taking a part of this joyful ride. We are truly grateful, and we love you to bits!

With that being said, we’d like to have another contest! YOU have the opportunity to win an original drawing with a handwritten short story! All you have to do is to comment on this post and you’re in! We’re gonna pick the winner on Saturday!

And on with today’s story:

It was one of those very dark evenings. I had been at a friend’s across town all night . After I got up on my bike I noticed that my lights weren’t working.

I considered to keep on riding, but I wouldn’t risk it. Not to make sure I wouldn’t end up in an accident, sadly, but because it’s illegal to ride your bike without lights at night in Denmark. 550 dkk is a lot of money!

I plugged in my music to keep me company for the next 40 minutes of walking when suddenly my favourite song by Adele started playing. Coincidence? I think not.


It didn’t take me long to realise what a perfect moment this was. It was late, not a lot of people were roaming the street, I was in a good mood. So I started singing…

… as if my life was depending on it.

I’m not a good singer, but it sure as hell doesn’t keep me from doing one of the things I enjoy the most. Next time you’re out strolling, riding your bike or just in your car, sing along to your favourite song. Even if it’s just under your breath.

Believe me, it’ll change you.

Love,
Nadia.

60 responses to “Rolling in the deep (+ 100th post contest!)

  1. love the face you make on picture #3 !

  2. Congrats on post # 100 – keep up the good work (and the late night singing πŸ™‚ )

  3. Scriptor Obscura

    Just wondering why my earlier comments didn’t get posted…???

  4. Scriptor Obscura

    This is my favorite song by Adele too, and I love the video that she made for it on YouTube.

  5. Adele’s Rolling in the Deep!! I love that song! Congrats for reaching your 100th post πŸ˜€ so proud of Dear Optimists ^^

    • It’s FANTASTIC! So is the rest of her album, really. I sang the whole album on my way home. But it would’ve been a struggle to draw… Jesus!
      Thanks!!

  6. Love this! I swear next time I have the urge (and am completely and utterly alone) I will go for it ‘NEVER MIND i’LL FIND SOMEONE LIKE YOU-OOOOO’ πŸ˜€

  7. I sing by myself in the car–sometimes really loud if it’s something like the Kinks’ “Lola,” which has never gotten stale for me.

    Me, too–pic 3 doesn’t need a caption!

    • LOOOOOOLA! Lo-lo-lo-lo-loooola! When I was a kid I ran around the house singing that song. Now I’m gonna do it again! πŸ™‚

  8. this is actually very creepy for me but just yesterday i was online with two of my childhood buddies tapan and radhe and tapan was telling us how he’s trying to make a band with some of his room-mates. now i and radhe were pulling his leg like crazy, saying his english accent is so fake and stupid. actually tapan had earlier shared a video of him singing and it was on this video we were commenting. you know what song he sang ??? it was this very song, ” here’s the youtube link to prove it

    i really like the cute drawings. hey can i ask you a favour, i recently started a wordpress page, i don’t know if its any good and i still haven’t got the hang of the controls yet. i’d be really happy if you could have a look and give your suggestions and comments, and criticism is welcome.

    • That’s actually pretty funny! Well, he *does* have an accent, but it’s definitely not English πŸ˜‰ But have you noticed all the different singers around: when they sing they sing with absolutely no accent, but when they talk they have this heavy accent? So I don’t think your friend is doing anything wrong, he’s just trying to make more people understand him (since loads of people have trouble understanding when others talk with the slightest accent).

      Sure, I will. Cheers for commenting!

  9. Um, yesser. That song came on in my car last night as I was running out to pick up pizza for last minute dinner after a crazy, hard day. Sang at the TOP of my lungs and felt much better. πŸ™‚ Music: it’s better than a therapist.

  10. Hehe…AWESOME!!! I try to sing badly just about every day while I do work around the house….the louder the better!

  11. I can’t count how many times I’ve actually done that. I don’t bike, but when I’m walking to school and there’s a considerable distance between myself and the next visible person, I sing like mad. The moment I spy someone else within hearing distance I shut up. :/

    • Aww, you shouldn’t stop singing. Try to keep on singing next time, I’ll bet you people will smile (because you make them happy by showing them how happy YOU are and the fact that you dare) πŸ™‚

  12. Hahaha! That got me smiling! πŸ™‚

  13. Is it weird that I would do that even if there were tons of people around? I hope not, ’cause it happens from time-to-time.

    And when I say “from time-to-time”, I mean “from the moment I wake up till the moment I go to bed”…you know, just occasionally. πŸ˜‰

    Love this post, Nadia!

    • Absolutely not! I sing whenever I’m riding my bike, but not as loud and with such intensity as this particular night πŸ˜‰

      Thanks! ❀

  14. I love this story! Just last night, after I dropped off my sister at her friends house, One of my favorite Blue October songs came on (The Answer) So I started singing loudly. XD I’m a terrible singer, but it was an awesome drive home ^-^

    One of my favorite songs to sing to is His Favorite Christmas Story.

    • ❀ Aww! Good. For. You! There's nothing better than to sing in your car really. Since I don't have a car, I'm gonna keep "annoying" people in the street πŸ˜‰

      Maybe they'll all throw in some money to buy me a car, so I'll stop roaming the streets, singing at the top of my lungs??

  15. Det er sΓ₯ dejlig en blog, elsker at komme ind og fΓ₯ et positivt input. Det ville vΓ¦re skΓΈnt at kunne hΓ¦nge ngt op pΓ₯ vΓ¦ggen derhjemme!

  16. Nothing better than singing along loudly to one’s favourite songs. πŸ˜€

  17. One of my most favourite moments to sing OUT loud like no one’s listening is while packing. Packing to go anywhere. Any type of trip, local, domestic, or international you put on your most favourite tunes b/c HEY it’s a mini holiday. AND SING A LONG or… yell along? Whichever.

  18. Congratulations on 100 posts! Yay! I love to sing out loud as well, especially when I’m cooking. πŸ™‚

  19. Congrats on the 100th post!

    And to be fair… Who DOESN’T sing along to Adele? That chick’s got mad skills. πŸ˜‰

    (That, and “Rock Lobster”. You HAVE to sing the high-pitched “Rock lobster!” line, you just HAVE to!)

    • Thank you!

      Well, my boyfriend is pretty annoyed by her and me trying to imitate her phrasing πŸ˜‰

      I’m gonna youtube that song!

  20. Adele! My girlfriend and I would sing our hearts out to Somebody Like You in the car. =D

    The other day at a red light, I caught a guy singing out loud in his car through the rear mirror. He looked really stupid, as if he was talking to himself. xD But, I’m guilty of it as well… because it’s the most awesome thing you could do in a car. =D

    • Aww, that’s another fav of mine. I absolutely love it. If only I could make my boyfriend join in.

      Ha ha, it’s hilarious to look for singers while driving! πŸ˜€

  21. I can imagine how you went through your ride.

    Isn’t it amazing when you feel carefree and happy?

    I remembered when Iwas younger, a ride with my family in our province, I took my head out and screamed at the top of my lungs… It was so freeing!

    • It’s absolutely wonderful. I wish I could be more carefree all the time.

      Oh gosh, that does sound freeing! I’m actually going on a trip with my in-laws today. Perhaps I should try it!

  22. first of all i’d like to congratulate u guys :).
    the first i do every morning when i get to the office (shh!) is read dearoptimists! and then i carry on with my work hehe. I don’t usually sing when i ride but today i was already running late, it could have been out of nervousness i don’t know but i started singing ‘come together’ by the beatles. and yes, it did feel good πŸ™‚

  23. Hey Nadia!
    I know the feeling with the lights and it is the best way to start the day with your favorite songs plugged in the ears.

    Right now it requires a favorite song too, because I have exams.. So all the favorite songs are on repeat:)

  24. Yeaaah. Singing out loud is the best…

  25. COngrats on the the century!!!

    now way else to celebrate than singing!!!

  26. Post #100 – how exciting! Here’s to 100s more! πŸ™‚

  27. I sing all the time when Im in my car! πŸ™‚ But sometimes I forget about passengers, so I have to apologise for my horrible voice…..makes for some good drives though! πŸ˜€

  28. Pingback: And the winner is… | Dear Optimists

  29. Pingback: Guest Post Wednesday: A Thank-You email | Dear Optimists

Leave a Reply

