Guest Post Wednesday: Hibernating

Dear Optimists,

This time of year, as the air gets cooler, the days turn grey, and darkness descends before dinner is even cooked, people start talking about the weather. A lot. And usually in the form of complaints: “The days are so short now! It gets dark so early!”

I used to be right there with them, grumbling under my breath and shuffling sadly toward my car after work, feeling unmotivated and fatigued.

But here’s the Optimist spin: I’ve learned to embrace it.

For real.

I light some candles.

I get into my pajamas.

I snuggle up with my son and my dog, and I allow myself to have a slow and easy night.

Complete with hot chocolate.

Because for the rest of the year, I’m busy. Those June nights wherre the sky still glows pink at 9pm are lovely, but never-ending. I get up, I work, I play, I clean, and I just keep doing stuff, because the sun is up and I feel compelled. It’s exhausting, really.

But on the dark cold November [and December] nights, there’s nothing else to do but hibernate.

So hibernate I will.

See you in April!

Love,
Angela Marchesani of Ohana Chronicles

Author: Nadia

BA-student in Philosophy & Science / Communications studies and also a photographer. Co-writer and illustrator for Dear Optimists.

5 thoughts on “Guest Post Wednesday: Hibernating”

  1. I couldn’t agree more!! I love summer nights, as we all do, but winter nights are fantastic! I love turning on the fireplace (yes, I turn it on…gas fireplace. lol!), pulling out a good book and just relaxing.

    It’s especially nice when you have the Christmas tree lights on too. 🙂

    Lovely post!

  2. This is very true! I love Winter for this reason. Snuggling, drinking warm beverages, and relaxing is the BEST and Christmas is the perfect time to do so. Well after you’ve purchased all your gifts…but those dark nights will be around until FEB so we’ve got lots of time!!

  3. That was very enjoyable to read. And the illustration has made it somewhat really cute and have an ‘awww’ moment.

    It is certainly a great time to just snuggle up, feel cosy and have an excuse to have hot chocolate with marshmellows. Everything mentioned in here rings absolute truth to it.

    Enjoy your hibernation ^__^

Leave a comment