Back in the game – sort of

Dear Optimists,

First of all, thank you for all the get-well wishes, the hugs and kisses. I hope I didn’t transmit a virtual cold or something to you.

But Jesus Christ, have I been ill. It’s like I caught everything possible. It started with a cold in the ears (seriously, that’s a thing… I expected my ears to sneeze or something interesting), then migraine, regular cold and ended with the flu.

People tend to do the weirdest stuff when they’re ill, don’t they? The days that should’ve been spend writing my dissertation I ended up hugging the toilet. I quickly figured out that tiles are very uncomfortable to lie on (surprise!), and ended up getting intimate with a bucket on the sofa under the covers instead. Buckets are way more comfy to rest your head on when you fall asleep…Luckily, I had my boyfriend to take care of me, Mum was there when he was working, and close friends were ringing me every now and then to check up on me. I was on the verge of dying.

The fever is now gone and I’m starting to feel better. Or so I thought. When I looked myself in the mirror this morning, I saw this:

My face looks like a water balloon and I have a cronic duck face (like the ones you see on 14 years old girls on Facebook) – I laugh everytime I come near a mirror. I’m actually smiling on that picture, can’t you tell?

I can’t be the only pathetic, frail sick person out there, am I?

Love,
Nadia.

10 responses to “Back in the game – sort of

  1. bucket on the sofa! never thought of that one! I like it! Made me laugh!

    i gave up a long time ago on hugging the toilet and use the sink. pop the drain thingie out–or not–even have running water.

    Feel better soonest. Time is the healer quite often….

    • It’s soo much easier! And it actually suits my head so well that it was fairly easy to fall asleep 😉

      Half the time I use the same technique, but standing up wasn’t really an option. Come to think of it, the bathtub would have been a smarter choice…

      Thanks so much, Laurel ❤

  2. Oh, you poor thing… Love the drawings, though. 🙂

  3. Oh God!! Poor you! I wanted to say get well soon, but i didn’t know where to post it, i have no twitter account and couldn’t get to your facebook’s.. Anyway, drink fluids, take flu medications and you’ll hopefully get better soon.. 🙂

    • Aww, you’re so sweet, Sara ❤ Thank you.

      I have glued myself to the sofa and won't be leaving it until I'm better (Okay, for peeing perhaps…)

  4. I haven’t been able to check properly on new posts the last few days. Hope you get better soon Nadia. Just be sure to take lots of rest and have soup! Soups are great for when being ill >w<

Leave a Reply

