Guest Post: Shit happens

Dear Optimists,

Shit happens.

I hate to burst the happy bubbles that some of you may be living in, but ’tis a fact of life: Shit. Happens.

My shit for the day?

I just lost my job.

For those who don’t know (i.e. everyone), I was working at a motel, both as a receptionist and as a waitress in its restaurant. But the other night, I went in to start my shift and was faced with the harsh reality that I was now unemployed.

Okay, “harsh” isn’t the right word. In a nutshell, the situation was that my boss’ son, having suffered an injury that was preventing him from returning to work, was to be given my job. He is available 24/7; I am a humble university student who shall always put my studies first. Ergo: Jobless Jess.

My co-workers weren’t exactly happy with the news and were saddened to see me go; I had to reassure my boss that there were no hard feelings, as she seemed near tears; oh yes, you could taste the devastation in the air.

But you know what? Shit happens. And sometimes when shit happens, all you can do is say, “Bugger, eh?” and get on with it. Because every cloud has a silver lining. It’s always darkest before the dawn. Everything happens for a reason. [Error: Cliché No#4 Not Found.]


It is official – I have no job. Bugger, eh?

But I’ve had my whinge, and I feel better. Anybody else want to rant about their “Bugger, eh?” moments? It is rather cathartic.

On another note…

…Anybody looking to hire?

Love,
Love The [Unemployed] Bad Guy (Jess)

10 responses to “Guest Post: Shit happens

  1. Awww sorry to hear you lost your job Jess! Thats poo!!
    Keep your chin up (Theres cliche number 4 haha)
    Mwah x

  2. i love this on a daily basis 🙂

  3. I hope you’ll be getting another job soon! So sorry this happened… that’s so sad… but as the quotation says “Everything happens for a reason.” Damn I love that quote!! 🙂

  4. Never give up, Jess! You will get the better one 😀
    Your study is more important now

  5. @lifesincethen – ahh, of course, there’s that cliche. 😉

    @tinkerbelle86 – whinging is just the best. I feel so much better…

    @evilnymphstuff – thanks for the kind words! My reasoning is: more time for writing! 😀

    @Yulia – I agree; I have been studying like some kind of crazy-ass studying machine! I am taking those exams DOWN!

  6. Thanks so much, Den and Nadia!

    I nearly fell off my chair when I saw my post here – and I knew that it was coming! So awesome. 😀

    And those pictures are just brilliant. I will definitely have to share those over at my blog.

    🙂

  7. Pingback: Optimistifying the Blogosphere « Love The Bad Guy

  8. I truly like this story!

    • I noticed that you volunteer as a teacher on The Philippines – that is so amazing. You must have a ton of optimistic and life-affirming stories to tell! We'd be happy to share some of your positive stories and perhaps influence some of our readers to do more volunteering. We'd really love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

