Running for happiness

Dear Optimists,

After reading Tuesday’s Fresh Air I may come across being rather lazy. Well, I am.
But in order to gain a more positive outlook on my everyday life, I knew I had to do something.

So I started running.

I’ve always hated running, running’s only goal seems to be to get back to where you started. Back when I was younger I used to run a lot, but only because I needed the exercise – I used to play badminton on a high level.

Getting your pulse up and running will not only get you healthier, but it will always make the endorphins and adrenalin pump through your veins. endorphins are known to make you happy, right? And happy is our goal here!

So what that I’ve only been running for a week? So what that I’ve only run twice? So what that it was last weekend, and I haven’t been running ever since? The most important thing is that I did it! Maybe you should do it too? Or do you get your adrenalin kick from something else?

Love,
Nadia.

19 responses to “Running for happiness

  1. That’s right! Running is healthy, it kicks stress off.
    I run indoors sometimes, thanks to the orbitrek! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

  2. Zumba is a much better was to get your adrenalin SKY HIGH…..

    Its a bout double the effort and takes half the motivation cos its fun fun fun

    • I dance as well! But it’s really not the same thing, I think. When running you just run while focusing on your breath. You get lost in your mind. I love that feeling.
      However, to get that happiness running through your veins, Zumba is absolutely fantastic!

  3. Well done on starting… I always seem to be STARTING to run again, I never seem to get fit enough to just enjoy it. But it is good doing the same route and seeing how you’re improving, bit by bit.
    Anything outdoors does it for me – running, hiking, cycling, swimming…

    • Well, I have to keep it up, right πŸ˜‰ Luckily I walk a hell of a lot also. But a good advise to keep me on the same route – I didn’t think of that. Thank you.
      Yay for being active!

  4. I try to do lots of pushups everyday! Or stretching! Both are awesome!

  5. I knew you’d love it. ❀

  6. I am looking forward for the time that I can use it for running again πŸ˜€
    I love running, swimming and badminton. I did all of these sports before I give birth. Plan to do it again next year πŸ™‚ I hope I won’t be lazy πŸ˜€

    Yulia
    http://www.mylifeimyrainbow.wordpress.com

    • Oh, badminton is fantastic! I played as a youngster πŸ™‚
      Well, it seems like you used to be very active so I doubt you’ll have any trouble getting back into the game πŸ˜€

  7. running and listening to musica= your own fun world.
    or podcasts…

  8. Technically you only need to run 3 – 4 times a week. SO twice is a really good start!! I ran all summer, and in Sept but that has come to a crashing holt b/c of my masters. BOO!

    BUT what I also learned is all you need to do it for is 30 mins for something to start happening!! That’s a positive!

    • Wow. Thanks for bringing that up! Now I don’t feel that bad any longer! My BA has hit me hard too, so I’m all caught up with university work these days. But it’s a great excuse! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

