Wiiiiillllld Horseeeees…

Dear Optimists,

I promised you more horsie stories, so here we go. Think of an animal you see in your front yard everyday. For me it’s squirrels. I see them frolicking, running around, gathering food, chasing each other and doing other silly squirrel things.

Now imagine instead that they’re horses. That’s right, I said horses.

I was in Outer Banks, North Carolina, as some of you may know from my previous post, for my sister’s wedding. And everywhere we went there were wild horses just running around, chilling, and eating leaves from trees. It was so cool! The best was when the girlfriend and I went for a walk with the camera in an attempt to photograph some. We found a group of four, and do you know what they did? They posed for us. No lie. They ignored us until I whipped out the camera, at which point they would stop and look at the camera, practically smiling! If I moved to shoot from a different angle, they turned to face me again! As I was about to shoot they would nuzzle each other, or stop moving (like a human would) and sometimes they even lifted a foot to pose!

So much fun.

The only downside? With horses everywhere, there was also poop everywhere.

And lots of it.

A small price to pay for having wild horses, I guess.

Love,

Den

6 responses to “Wiiiiillllld Horseeeees…

  1. I love the illustrations, but a cute photo of your wild horses would be fun to see too! 😀

  2. Horses. Poop. The two sort of go hand-in-hand…or hoof-in-hoof.

    Love the wild horse stories! 😀

  3. lol i like how the horses were drawn with stubby legs!
    they seem quite happy with them…

  4. That’s just awesome.

    But heck, the thought of seeing squirrels all over the place is exciting to me.

Leave a Reply

