Saturday Surprise!!! Earthquake…

This is a little bonus for all of our lovely readers. We usually don’t post on weekends, but this is special!

Dear Optimists,

I am officially an earthquake survivor.

I pulled my car up at home and all of a sudden it started rocking back and forth. It brought new meaning to the saying “If this car’s a rockin’, then don’t come a knockin’…” Okay sorry, bad joke.

But I got out and the ground was still shaking. Weird, right? As my neighbors ran out of their houses, I enjoyed the sheer overreaction. This was NOT a big earthquake where I live. Even at the epicenter, nothing really serious happened.

I just thank God I didn’t challenge the girlfriend to a game of Jenga at that moment.

Love,

Den

8 responses to “Saturday Surprise!!! Earthquake…

  1. On the west coast we’re used to earthquakes. Once while eating at a restaurant over the water everything started rocking much like dining on a ship in heavy seas. After looking around the room at all the surprised faces, swinging lights, and moving dishes it dawned on me…..this restaurant is on PILINGS! Nope, not a big wave, earthquake! Nobody even got out of their chair.

  2. Oh I so love this pic… your girlfriend’s absolute delight/glee, the sweat on your brow… just love it!

  3. Earthquakes are bizarre! I felt the one in Ottawa last summer, around this same time, and it was unreal! You just don’t know what to do with yourself, and it’s over before you notice it’s happened.

  4. They sure are weird things! Here in NZ, Christchurch has been shaking for over a year….and it still takes me a while to figure out what’s happening when I get woken by one….

    • Ours was quite small, I was more joking than anything else. Although I have to admit it was a bit scary…I can’t imagine what real ones are like.

  5. Wrong – brilliant joke. 😉

Leave a Reply

