Smurfs Update


Dear Optimists,

Smurfs update. The gf and I went into a McD’s after a lovely night of looking at art and a delicious dinner, just to see if we could get any more of the Smurfs for my collection.

The kid working was either really nice or didn’t give a hoot, so he went into the back and brought out a giant box. “Root through and pick out the ones you need,” he said with a kind smile. We searched through and found one of each I was still missing. As we checked out I started to think about fate.

“You know,” I said to the gf. “You know what’s going to happen. We think we have the whole set, but there’s going to be one that we somehow missed.” She laughed and so did the kid.

When I got back home and looked through, I was missing Panicky Smurf. I jinxed myself.

But heck, at least now the quest is still on!

Love,
Den

9 responses to “Smurfs Update

  1. No, it’s physics. Every action has an equal and positive reaction, right? Your optimism brought you to this kind kid. It’ll bring you to panicky smurf, too!

    • Today is the last day for Smurfs, and I have yet to find Panicky. I went to two McDs today, one in PA and one in Washington, D.C. (I’m on vacation) and still no luck. Looks like I’m stuck with an almost-set.

  2. Did you somewhat ironically panic about the lack of Panicky in your life?

  3. I like his smile (the cartoon). He shows the satisfaction when he is with his collection. Very nice.

  4. I love your blog. I especially love this post because my last name is Murphy. Murphy–>Smurphy–>Smurfy–>Smurf

  5. Perhaps you will find Panicky Smurf some other way, not through McD Happy meals…. good luck. My friend has a smurf collection – I will have to see what Panicky Smurf looks like!

Leave a Reply

